Matthew Diaz

Grade Level:
High School Bible

Get to know me!

About Me: I have been married since 2009 to my beautiful wife Katie, and we have four kids at Dream City this year. I have spent my entire life in Arizona, I grew up in Flagstaff and moved down to the valley in 2013. I love going to the movie theater, which has become more valued since the pandemic. I love writing, I have authored a book, “The Last Day of Regret” and try to keep an updated blog and website. Google Matthew J Diaz and see what pops up.

Background: I received my B.S. in Social Studies Secondary Education from Northern Arizona University. I went into youth ministry at my home church in Flagstaff during college and worked toward ordination as a full time Youth Pastor. This process culminated in graduating from Fuller Theological Seminary with an M.A. in Global Leadership. After a decade in youth ministry, God called me to teaching in Christian education as a Bible teacher. This is my 9th year in education and first year at DCCS.

How did I start teaching: Preaching and teaching are similar, both want to convey meaning and add purpose to life. Speaking into the lives of teenagers was a calling I received in college. My entire career has revolved around working with teenagers and helping them transition into young adults.

Favorite Subjects: U.S. History

Favorite Bible Verse: Romans 8:37-39 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. 38 For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, 39 nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Fun Fact:I grew up with a very adventurous dad. I’ve learned how to white water raft (Salmon River in ID), Scuba Dive (Certified), snow board (Durango, Aspen, Flagstaff), multi-pitch outdoor rock climb, mountain bike, mountaineer (Yosemite in CA and Mount Rainier in WA). I also received my first degree black belt in Tae Kwan Do when I was 17.